student pose with instruments

On Thursday, March 30, twenty-five 7th and 8th grade band students traveled to LeMars for the Sine Nomine Band Festival. Schools from LeMars, Cherokee, Storm Lake, Sheldon and Spencer participate in this festival to provide a non-competitive organization where students come together to rehearse, perform and to experience different styles of music under the direction of a guest conductor. 

This festival began in 1977, originally known as the “No Name Festival”. With the further development of the festival, came the need for a more appropriate title. Sine Nomine is of Latin origin meaning “without name,” which seemed a perfect choice. 

The guest conductor this year was Alexa Gibbs, the 7-12 Instrumental Band Director at South Hamilton Community Schools.

Students Pictured (left to right):
Front Row: Maggie Moser, Annabelle Thompson, Graham Hurst, Alivia VanderTuig, Hannah Moser, Maggie Peterson, Eli Reiman, Easton Beehler

Middle Row: Levi Lane, Hannah Hibbs, Alyssa Pesante, Tori Kenny, Jordi Molitor, Brynn Merchant, Morgan Irvine, Avery Metcalf, Emily Schmidt, Mallory Adams, Cameron TenKley, Owen Mortinsen-Rieck

Back Row: Joe Ruden, Matthew Maki, Haedden Slawson, Hallie Brown, Brody Robinson, Emalee Weuve, Oliver Hansel, Kyan Eldridge